Free islandwide delivery for purchases above $60!

Cantina del Taburno

Cantina del Taburno is located at the base of Mount Taburno, an inactive volcano in the small town of Foglianise (Benevento province).

Cantina del Taburno, located on the slopes of Mount Taburno, belongs to the “Consorzio Agrario di Benevento” (Agricultural Consortium of Benevento). The Consortium was established in 1901 and played a crucial role in the development of agriculture in the Sannio area. The winery was built in 1972 in Foglianise. It’s a point of reference for viticulture due to its philosophy and for its positive impact on the economy of the area.

The grapes vinified at Cantina del Taburno are grown in vineyards (of an extension of approximately 600 hectares) in the towns standing on the slopes of Mount Taburno: Foglianise, Torrecuso, Vitulano, Campoli del Monte Taburno, Castelpoto, Apollosa, Bonea, Montesarchio, Ponte, Tocco Caudio, Paupisi and Benevento. The ecosystem of vines in this area is quite unique due to the type and exposure of the soils: to the particular kind of climate, grape varietals and agricultural practices. The hills with clay and calcareous marl soils, the mild winters with regular rainfall between October and March, the dry and warms summers all concur to create extremely favourable conditions for high quality viticulture.


Aglianico del Sannio (also called Aglianico di Torrecuso) is the main grape varietal of Taburno. They’re considered indigenous because the vines are more than a century old and have been widely distributed in the area. Other autochthonous red varietals, such as Piedirosso and Sciascinoso are present, but Falanghina is the main white varietal. During the last twenty years, work at Cantina del Taburno has focused on the quality improvement of wine made from Falanghina. Attention has also been paid to other three white varietals: Coda di Volpe, Greco and Fiano.

At present, the grapes grown by 300 associates (owners or managers of vineyards located in the Taburno DOC) are vinified at the winery. Great efforts are made to achieve the best conditions for the highest quality expression of these historical varietals.


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin

Related Posts

Pirramimma Winery

Pirramimma vineyards and winery are nestled behind the township of McLaren Vale, running parallel to Tatachilla Road. The mature vineyards are planted to 13 varieties and 40 designated blocks, spread over 300 acres and allow them to produce over 80 different wines, from the iconic McLaren Vale Shiraz, pioneered varieties such as Petit Verdot and Tannat, and an ancient collection of fortifieds.

Founded in 2005, the Barons de Rothschild Champagne House has established strong relationships with partner producers to craft champagnes of a rare elegance from exceptional terroirs and rigorously selected grapes. “Accomplishing through great achievements”, such has been the Rothschild family’s ambition for more than 250 years. Through the strength of its wine-growing experience, the family has joined forces with producers from Champagne to develop excellent champagnes which bring together know-how and tradition.

Rupert Wines

Anthonij Rupert Wyne was founded on the farm L’Ormarins in Franschhoek. Originally owned by the late Anthonij Rupert, who passed away in 2001, the farm was taken over by his brother Johann Rupert in 2003. It was Johann Rupert who constructed a state-of-the-art winemaking facility on the estate, and the beginnings of what was to become a sprawling enterprise with a focus on terroir-specific wines.

Takara Sake

Takara has great experience in producing Shochu , Mirin and Sake for more than one-and-a-half centuries. Because Takara’s main business endeavors depend heavily on the mastery of natural processes such as fermentation, the Company feels a strong responsibility toward preserving the natural environment.

© 2019 Boundby Pte Ltd. All Rights Reserved.

Shopping cart


No products in the cart.